A red and white tile with various symbols on it.

WHMIS 2015 Training

WHMIS 2015 Training

Do you operate a business in Canada? Do you receive or use hazardous products in your workplace? If so, you require WHMIS 2015 training. WHMIS has joined forces with the worldwide hazard community known as GHS (Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals) and has now been renamed in Canada to WHMIS 2015.

Included in the new WHMIS 2015 are brand new pictographs. For example, if the product is flammable, the pictograph would be a picture of flames. Majority of pictographs have a red square around the boarder to allow for easy identification. Inside that border is a picture that identifies what type of hazard is present.

The transition period between WHMIS 1988 and WHMIS 2015 is broken up into 3 different stages based on the type of supplier. The 3 categories are manufacturers and importers, distributors and employer.

Phase 1 (February 11, 2015- May 31, 2017)

• Employers will be allowed to use both WHMIS 1988 and WHMIS 2015, but they must consult their local jurisdiction during this time period to review what their specific WHMIS requirements are.

Phase 2 (June 1, 2017- May 31, 2018)

• Manufactures and importers must be using WHMIS 2015 while distributors and employers can still use either WHMIS 1988 or WHMIS 2015.

• If your employees are receiving products with WHMIS 2015 labels from manufactures and importers, they must have WHMIS 2015 training.

Phase 3 (June 1, 2018)
• Manufactures/ importers and distributers must be using WHMIS 2015.

Everyone must have their WHMIS 2015 training completed by December 1, 2018.